Posted by: judyweightman | July 2, 2012

Why I Can’t Be a Locavore

Short answer: tropical fruit.

For those of you who share my love of both tropical fruit and homemade frozen-treats-on-a-stick, here’s a recipe I picked up from Pinterest and tried immediately:

Tropi-Pops

1 can crushed pineapple, with juice

1 can coconut milk [I found among the Goya-brand foods, which, luckily, are right next to the Asian foods (my starting point) in my supermarket.]

1 ripe banana

1/2 tsp. vanilla

Blend. Freeze in single portions. (I used plastic cups and spoons, and made six largish ones; if you have a frozen-treat-freezing kit from the dollar store, that would work even better. )

The original directions said “blend,” and I did (because I’m so freaking docile), but I think if you mashed the banana before adding, you could get away with stirring.

And next time I make them, which will be as soon as I finish this batch, I think I’ll stir some fresh local fruit (blueberries? cut-up peaches?) into the mix before freezing, to placate the hard-core locavore advocates.

[No picture, sorry — they look like off-white cup-shaped blocks on a handle, not terribly appetizing, but dang they’re tasty.]

Leave a Reply

Categories

