Posted by: judyweightman | December 14, 2012

Slimming with the Stars

Spammers seem to travel in packs — or at least steal a lot of ideas from each other. In the last week and a half or so, I’ve gotten emails from the following women, all promising to share their fast, easy weight-loss secrets:

  • Rachel Ray (who apparently forgot that she spells her first name “Rachael” in the excitement of the moment)
  • Jessica Alba
  • Pamela Anderson
  • Oprah Winfrey
  • Madonna
  • Natalie Portman
  • Reese Witherspoon
  • Salma Hayak

Conspicuous by their absence from this list are women who have actually endorsed weight-loss programs, like Kirstie Alley, Valerie Bertinelli, Jennifer Hudson, and Jessica Simpson.

I’m sure the marketing geniuses behind these campaigns are looking carefully at the relative success of the various names. Do you think it’s Oprah, with her long, long history of struggle with her weight? Or the unattractively scrawny (to me, anyway) Madonna? Or the friendly and relatable Rachael Ray?

Oprah and Rachael share a laugh, and a meal.

Oprah and Rachael share a laugh, and a meal.

Responses

  1. I’m entertained by the variety of spam I get. Just this week I’ve been invited to meet Christian Singles who share my values (Alternatively, I can try the Sincere Jewish Singles… which makes me wonder about the sincerity of the Christian singles), have discreet affairs with lonely wives, and to gain up to three inches permanently. There are many things wrong with their targeting mechanism.

    Also, could never sign up with Rachael’s diet plan. She’d say “Yum-O” or “sammies” and I’d get a little stabby.

    • It’s fascinating that I get completely different spam in my two main accounts, the professional (which is through gmail) and the personal (which is Verizon, run through Thunderbird). All of this goes to the professional account; I get mostly acupuncture and car insurance in the personal. Wonder what the difference between the filter algorithms is?

  2. […] if the other emails I’ve been getting weren’t enticing enough, this morning I got one from Anne Hathaway about Britney Spears […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

